Skip to content

#WCICMusicChoice: Belgian Multi-Instrumentalists, BRNS Takes You Higher On “The Way Up”



Belgian Multi-Instrumentalists BRNS delivers a new single titled, “The Way Up”. All before going on their 3-date UK tour this month follow their three-week tour of France, the band displays their genre-bending sound as they mix electronic synths and haunting falsetto vocals and guitar rifts that will make you love the dark, avant-garde feel it has.

facebook, whycauseican

Read more on BRNS:
From the medieval and postmodern corners of Brussels, Belgian multi-instrumentalists BRNS prepare to take their mesmerizing experiment in dusk, dance and the fullness of sound on the road with a new 3-date UK Tour.

Having received praise from the likes of The Line of Best Fit, and with NME dubbing them one of the most exciting new bands of 2013, the forward-thinking four-piece have spent the past two years cementing their reputation as a tour de force on the gigging circuit. Sharing stages across Europe with the likes of Yeasayer, WHY?, Cloud Nothings and SUUNS, they have also performed prolifically at festivals such as the legendary SXSW and Iceland Airwaves, where they recently performed two trademark atmospheric shows to packed out audiences.

The upcoming gigs follow the success of their last UK tour, which saw two oversubscribed shows in London and Brighton, and come hot on the heels of their recently completed three-week tour of France with Archive, which concluded with two sell-out performances at The Zenith in Paris.

The tour kicks off with a much awaited return to London on Tuesday 24th November at Electrowerkz in Islington, a cavernous Berlin-esque venue which has played host to the likes of Chvrches, Young Wonder, and Tropics. The group will then head west to Gwdihw in Cardiff on 26th November, before rounding off the tour with a gig at Sticky Mike’s Frog Bar in Brighton for the city’s new multi-venue festival, Mutations, on 28th November.

The tour is accompanied by the release of new single ‘The Way Up’, which exemplifies the band’s genre-bending sound and features a glitchy repetitive undertone fuelled by haunting falsetto vocals, a guitar riff dripping with sonic emotion, and the eclectic mix of percussion listeners have come to expect from the Belgian quartet. Building to a deafening post-apocalyptic crescendo of distorted guitar and breathtakingly powerful percussion, its abrupt ending leaves the listener in the aftermath of a veritable sound rollercoaster.

The single is accompanied by beautiful black-and-white visuals based around the concept of growing up, and is described by director Sirus F Gahan as being about “reaching an inevitable limbo where you must step out into the world, and be cut off from all support…suddenly time is vastly more tangible. The pull inside of you and the push from the world are quantum locked, and you’re going nowhere fast.”

With a 3-date tour across the UK, a new single, and astonishing accompanying visuals, November looks set to be a truly exciting month for Belgium’s most progressive music makers.

Follow WhyCauseICan:
Twitter @WhyCauseICan | Facebook | Instagram WhyCauseICan


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: